O/Modernt Composition Award


Since time immemorial the past has been a source of inspiration for artists working in every creative field. O/Modernt (hyperlink to www.omodernt.com) (translated as ‘Un/Modern’) is the concept devised by the violinist Hugo Ticciati that celebrates this ‘looking back’, using imaginative programming to explore vital connections between old and new.

In 2019 O/Modernt will inaugurate an annual composition award, the winning work will be performed by world-class artists at Festival O/Modernt (hyperlink to www.omodernt.com/festival) on 19 June 2019


Instrumentation piano quintet
Length 5 – 8 minutes
Deadline 1 April 2019
Age Open to composers under the age of forty on 19 June 2019


Does the music of the past effortlessly enrich the modern composer’s creative consciousness or is it a source of dark anxiety? For some, immersion in the flow of tradition brings about artistic rebirth; for others, new art can only be created by painfully confronting the illustrious art of the past. Beethoven’s explosive arrival on the great stage of western music posed such questions with irresistible urgency.

In the ninth edition of the festival in June 2019 O/Modernt will celebrate Beethoven with a variety of hallmark programmes ‘mis/reading’ – to appropriate the word of the literary critic Harald Bloom – his forever-present legacy. 


The competition work will be performed in a programme entitled FALLEN HEROES and should takes as its point of departure a misreading of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3. 


FRÉDÉRIC CHOPIN Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor Op. 35                 

***COMPETITION WORK***                             

ARNOLD SCHOENBERG Ode to Napoleon Op. 41                                                                                


LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Op. 55 (‘Eroica’)



€1000 in prize money

Premiere at Festival O/Modernt on 19 June 2019

Flights and accommodation to attend attendance at world premiere in Sweden (to an amount not exceeding €400)

Publication with Gehrmans Musikförlag



Email PDF of the score to commissions@omodernt.com along with:

Applicant details: name, date of birth, nationality, country of residence, e-mail address, telephone number, short biography

Work details: title, length and short description of the ‘idea’ behind the work


For any questions please write to commissions@omodernt.com


Hugo Ticciati
Founder & Artistic Director O/Modernt

In collaboration with Gehrmans

Peteris Vasks (will silly line above E!)



Rolf Martinsson Chairman

Rámon Anthin

Andrea Tarrodi

Mark Tatlow

Matthew Peterson