Carl von Ossietzky Kompositionspreis


In 2014 the Institute of Music of the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg announces the annual competition for compositions for piano solo, piano four-hands, or two pianos with (two players).
The repertoire of contemporary compositions that has been established by this competition through the past years is meant to be extended with compositions for this instrument. Compositions should be of easy to fairly difficult level of difficulty. They should constitute a challenge for beginners and advanced pupils as well as student teachers without demanding unsolvable technical difficulties. The degree of difficulty is not regarded as a criterion of quality!Three main prizes as well as a youth-career award will be granted.

Duration: max. 10 minutes

The compositions should not have already been published of performed. There is no limitation of age of the participants. The content of the piece can be chosen freely.

Submissions: until the 30th November 2014 to Address:

Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Fk III, Institut für Musik,
Postfach 2503
z.Hd. Prof. Violeta Dinescu
D-26111 Oldenburg

Please, submit two copies of the composition anonymously, as well as an anonymouscommentary of your composition. Please, also send a closed envelope containing name and address of the composer, as well as a short CV (biography). Submissions are only accepted by mail (post) – no E-Mail!

Participants not older than 25 years can apply for the youth price of the contest. These composers should mark their score with a letter F (=Förderpreis)

The premiere of the awarded compositions will be performed by Werner Barho in the University of Oldenburg in 2015.