Suzanne and Lee Ettelson Composer’s Award


An award of $1,000 will be given for a new chamber work. The winning work will be performed in the San Francisco Bay Area during the 2019-20 concert season. Award winners are expected to attend performances. Works not awarded prizes will also be considered for programming.


Composers of any age or nationality may enter. Previous winners of this award are ineligible.


Entries may be scored for one to five performers plus conductor. Performers shall be drawn from the core instrumentation of the ensemble Wild Rumpus: flute/piccolo/alto flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, trombone, electric guitar, piano, violin, cello, double bass (one player each). Works may include one or two instruments not listed above, including voice(s) and electronics, but must include at least one member of the core instrumentation.

Examples: a string quartet is eligible, as is a trio for flute, viola and harp. A duo for oboe and French horn is not eligible, nor is a work for voice and harpsichord.

Composers may submit more than one work.

Preparing Your Entry

Submit an ANONYMOUS .pdf and streaming audio link of each score on the submission form. The submitted .pdf’s and audio links must be free of names and identifying marks (including composer, dedicatee, performer, and publisher names). A non-refundable entry fee of $25 USD for one work and $20 USD for each additional work is due on submission. Please proceed to ONLINE INSTRUCTIONS below.


The judges are six of the artistic directors of Composers, Inc.: Robert Greenberg, Emma Logan, Frank La Rocca, Ryan Rey, Allen Shearer, and Nick Vasallo; and the Artistic Director of Wild Rumpus, Nathaniel Berman.


Entries must be completed by January 19, 2019. The winner will be announced during March, 2019. You may reach us at mail@composersinc.org if you have any questions.

Composers, Inc. reserves the right to use the concert recordings of Award recipients for promotional purposes.